close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

County Board

Mercer County Board
District 1 Becky Hawn (R) Keithsburg    12/26
  Lynn Pease (R) Alexis 12/24
District 2 Chris Demink (D) Sherrard 12/24
  Gary Gregg (D) Viola  12/26
District 3 Linda Koepke (R) Sherrard 12/24
  Tim Arbet (R) Sherrard 12/26
District 4 Josh Frieden (R) New Boston, CHAIRMAN
  Chris DeFrieze (R) New Boston 12/24
District 5 Gary Anderson (R) Aledo 12/24
  Steve Moreland (R) Aledo 12/26

* Meetings are the first Tuesday of each month except when there is an election or a holiday.
* If you wish to appear before the County Board at a General Meeting you must fill out a Board Appearance Request (Located in the Document section in General Documents) and return to Sara Blaser at the Mercer County Clerk's Office (309)582-7021. 
*Mercer County Board Districts, Map and Contact List are found in the Document Section

Committee Assignments

Finance Chris DeFrieze, Chair 1st Tuesday of each month at 6 p.m. in the Board Room at the Courthouse.
  + 9 remaining Board Members  
Law Enforcement Chris DeFrieze, Chair Thursday the 2nd week before Board Meeting at 10:30 a.m.
  Gary Gregg at the Jail Annex.
  Gary Anderson  
Negotiations / Personnel /   As needed.  Will begin negotiation discussions in January 2023.
Grievance Chris DeFrieze  
  Gary Gregg  
  Becky Hawn  
Public Health Tim Arbet 3rd Tuesday of the month at 7 p.m. at the Health Dept.
Waste Management Gary Gregg  
  Chris Demink  
911 Board Steve Moreland Quarterly on 2nd Wednesday of the month (February, May, August,
  Chris DeFrieze  November) at 10:30 a.m. at the Jail Annex.
Insurance Linda Koepke, Chair First Tuesday of the month at 5:30 p.m. in County Clerk's Office at the
  Tim Arbet Courthouse unless a special meeting is required.
  Gary Anderson  
Zoning Gary Anderson As needed on 3rd Thursday of the month at 7 p.m. in the Board Room
  Gary Gregg at the Courthouse
  Tim Arbet  
Assessments Linda Koepke As needed.
  Becky Hawn  
  Chris Demink  
Veterans Assistance Lynn Pease Quarterly on the 2nd Monday of the month (March, June, September and December)
  Chris DeFrieze at 7 p.m. at the Aledo American Legion
Budget Chris DeFrieze  
  Gary Gregg Quarterly on the 3rd Friday at 10 a.m. in the Board Room at the Courthouse.
  Linda Koepke  
University of IL Extension Becky Hawn  
Transportation Steve Moreland,Chair The last Wednesday of the month at 4 p.m. at the
  Chris DeFrieze  
  Gary Anderson Highway Dept.
  Lynn Pease  
Legislative (IACMBM&C)    
Properties / Purchases / Specs Steve Moreland, Chair As needed.
  Gary Anderson  
  Chris Demink  
Econ. Dev.. / ARPA Funds Steve Moreland, Chair Wednesday the 2nd week before Board Meeting at 10:30 a.m. in the Board
  Chris Demink Room at the Courthouse.
  Becky Hawn  
Public Bldg. Commission  Gary Gregg Quarterly on the 2nd Wednesday of the month (March, June, September,
    December) at 6 p.m. at the Jail Annex.
Animal Control Gary Gregg Last Wednesday of the month at 3:30 p.m. at the
  Linda Koepke Highway Dept.

Elected County Officials - 4 Year Terms
Clerk and Recorder  Brian Gerber (R) 12/22 582-7021
Circuit Clerk Kristin Relander (D) 12/24 582-7122
Coroner Gregory D. Larson (R) 12/24  
Sheriff Dusty Terrill (R) 12/22 582-5194
State's Attorney Grace Simpson (R) 12/24 582-5381
Treasurer Bev Lower (D) 12/22 582-2524

Department Heads
County Engineer  Rick Walker  582-2715
Supervisor of Assessments  Symone Morford 582-7814
Director of Probation Janet Stairwalt 582-5169
Animal Control Dr. Jeremy Joy  
Health Department Angie Litterst 582-3759